C.L. WELLS

Yearly Archives: 2017

Sophie Dawson is back with a new book! Just published on November 16th! It’s all about music and a marriage forced on them by circumstances. Can Red and Gema make things work? About the Book Red Dickerson is shocked to see a young woman running through the woods in the freezing rain. He’d gone to the far end of Hawk’s Wing Ranch to think after his engagement was broken by the woman he planned to marry. Recognizing her as Gema Volkovichna, one of the women from Sanctuary House, he spurs his horse to go after her. Finding she’s escaped after being kidnapped by the infamous King Gang, he vows to keep her safe. Gema Volkovichna is one of the newest women to come to Sanctuary House in Stones Creek, Colorado. She came to find work and possibly a husband. When a spring blizzard forces them to spend three days alone … click here to read the full article.

Take a look at this exciting new young adult action and adventure novel, The Student and the Slave, now available for purchase! This is the third book in the Krillonian Chronicles, after The Collar and the Cavvarach and The Gladiator and the Guard.  The series is set in an alternate world that is very much like our own, with just a few major differences.  One is that slavery is legal there.  Slaves must wear metal collars that lock around their neck, making their enslaved status obvious to everyone. Another difference is the popularity of a martial art called cavvara shil.  It is fought with a cavvarach (rhymes with “have a rack”), a weapon similar to a sword but with a steel hook protruding from partway down its top edge.  Competitors can strike at each other with their feet as well as with the blades.  You win in one of two ways: disarming your … click here to read the full article.

  About the Book You never escape your past Andi Lloyd is more comfortable than most with interstellar travel, but she’s not prepared for the perils and peculiarities of a world she has all but forgotten—the planet Earth. As the Surveyor undergoes repairs, her brother August receives a message with news that will send both of them across the world to a place he never wanted to visit again. Neither of them are prepared to be thrust into a world of political intrigue amid the tangled forests and crumbling ruins of Austria. They aren’t prepared to encounter wild animals and endure cross-country hikes. And they definitely aren’t prepared to face it all alone. But despite the dangers they must press on into the unknown to find a way to save Andi’s life, to decide the fate of Earth itself—and to rescue a lonely girl who just happens to be their … click here to read the full article.

For those craving a good, old-fashioned mystery or a clean read for their child!    “An endearing series perfect for fans of Nancy Drew!”     Twelve-year-old Samantha Wolf, and her best friend Ally, are excited to spend part of their summer break in the mountains of Montana. But unbeknownst to them, Hollow Inn is bathed in mystery and legend. After arriving, they soon discover that things are not going well for Sam’s Aunt and Uncle, who own the Inn. There’s vandalism, ghostly sightings, and rumors of lost treasures. Determined to help, Sam and Ally embark on a challenging journey to discover the truth. Read the whole Samantha Wolf Mysteries series, now an Amazon bestseller!   “I bought this and read it to see if it would be a good book for my nieces. It now sits on the shelf right along side the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, and Encyclopedia Brown collections.” … click here to read the full article.

About the Book After duty as an ambulance driver in World War I, Ellie Morgan returns to Chicago to take up her share of the work in her grandparents’ department store. Ellie doesn’t want to alienate her family or disappoint them, but despite a six year effort to settle in, she feels increasingly trapped in store routine. Meanwhile, her grandmother urges her to marry a local politician and help him succeed in his chosen field. Ellie’s grandfather, however, wants to see her happy and independent. “Go West, young woman, go west,” he advises paraphrasing a popular quotation of the day. So with Granddad’s help, Ellie secures a job on a ranch in Colorado and sets out to prove that she has the necessary character to succeed at a third vocation. When Aldon Leitzinger meets Ellie’s train in Clifton Colorado, he introduces himself as the foreman of the ranch. But the … click here to read the full article.

Get ready! This blog is going to show my age, but I’ll be attending a reunion with classmates from my elementary school tonight so you’ll have to forgive my nostalgia. I’m a total eighties kid, meaning I was born in the seventies and grew up in the eighties. I graduated from high school in the early nineties and just as I became a legal adult, brick size cell phones that you would have never even considered sliding into your back pocket emerged. Prior to that, folks with car phones (adults) and pagers (I had a pager!) were the cool ones. In grade school, I had the non-pleasure of playing DOS games such as The Oregon Trail on a Macintosh at school. At the time, I didn’t particularly care for learning how to use the computer or their floppy disks. It looked something like this… I did love to read and … click here to read the full article.

This romantic suspense is on preorder from now through May 18th! Go get your copy and be sure to leave a review when you’re finished reading it. It’s currently available exclusively on Amazon! She didn’t choose loneliness. Sherice is in hiding and trusts only one soul in the world, a black lab named Jazz. All her barriers begin to crumble when a nosy house-sitter peeps through her privacy fence. As events spin out of Sherice’s control, she has to learn to trust, or risk losing the life she so carefully built. C.L. Wells is a JANE-OF-ALL-TRADES, with a passion for writing and animals. She lives in Topeka, Kansas with her family, which includes a fat doggie who is not named Toto and a cat who moonlights as an escape artist. Feel free to ask her about the ‘escape artist.’ She plans to write about it someday. She would love hearing … click here to read the full article.

Just yesterday, I finished listening to the audible version of The Shack by Wm. Paul Young. After reading through some of the blogs and opinions on this book, I had no choice but to write my own. I’ll admit I listened to this during a time I’ve been particularly angry with God. I didn’t want to buy the book. I kept hovering my cursor over it, telling myself I didn’t want it. Truly, I did not want it. But, for some reason, I felt compelled. I got three books that day and I didn’t listen to this one first. If you haven’t read this book yet and don’t like spoilers then I would stop right here. Go read it or listen to it and then come back. Notice I didn’t say to go watch the movie. Never watch the movie first. Books rule, plain and simple. Again, I don’t want to ruin … click here to read the full article.

Dating the It Guy by Krysten Lindsay HagerYA contemporary romance Blurb: Emme is a sophomore in high school who starts dating, Brendon Agretti, the popular senior who happens to be a senator’s son and well-known for his good looks. Emme feels out of her comfort zone in Brendon’s world and it doesn’t help that his picture perfect ex, Lauren seems determined to get back into his life along with every other girl who wants to be the future Mrs. Agretti. Emme is already conflicted due to the fact her last boyfriend cheated on her and her whole world is off kilter with her family issues. Life suddenly seems easier keeping Brendon away and relying on her crystals and horoscopes to guide her. Emme soon starts to realize she needs to focus less on the stars and more on her senses. Can Emme get over her insecurities and make her relationship … click here to read the full article.

Of Buds And Blossoms, Seasons of Love Book 3                       BLURB Librarian Chloe McAlister finds solace in her books—and hats—but doesn’t know where to turn when her longtime crush gets engaged. On a whim, she signs up for a speed-dating mixer and convinces her best friend, Dill Thomas, to attend. All goes as planned until she realizes Dill means more to her than she thought … and he goes and falls for someone else. This 10,000-word short story is perfect for your lunch break, workout, or while you wait in line at the mall. Read it today to experience a hint of spring any time of the year! EXCERPT “Is the beard a deal breaker? Serious question here.” Chloe raised her brows. “Hm?” “Do you like me rugged or clean? Be honest, I can take it.” Dill had never cared … click here to read the full article.

Scroll To Top