C.L. WELLS

Posts Tagged: stories

My sandals tapped out a steady rhythm on the cobbled-stone street of Ghibellina as I made my way back to my apartment. Today would be my last in Florence, Italy. A mournful sigh escaped me at the thought and my heart squeezed. I placed my hand on my chest, but kept moving. I’m going to miss this. The aroma of coffee from the tiny shop on the corner filled the quiet street. The neon sign lit up before me signaling they were now open for business. A clunking noise disturbed the silence and I smiled to myself. A minute later, Mr. Cima came around the corner pulling his wooden vendor cart. Daily, he made the six-block trek to the San Lorenzo market to sell his goods. Short and spry, his trim gray hair could be seen below the brown flat-cap he always wore. “Buongiorno, bella.” He greeted as we approached … click here to read the full article.

From RJ Conte, weaver of deep, emotional fiction, comes a touching collection of short stories about love and unique relationships – including the bestselling Lucent Sylph! RJ Conte, formerly Rachael Lynn Thomas, has kissed only one boy in her entire life. And she married him, inspiring her to write about sweet or powerful love stories ever since. She writes a blog on parenting, publishing, painting, and perorating at http://blonderj.wordpress.com/ RJ Conte writes realistic, issue-driven fiction that explores human nature and the depths of the soul, while pointing readers to their Creator. Each of the five short stories touches on love in different, unique relationships: caregiver and child, parent and child, man and woman, teen and pet, and warrior and unsuspecting victims. The collection of short stories will be released on Amazon on Valentines’ Day, February 14th!  https://www.amazon.com/Bottle-Glass-Hearts-Collection-Stories-ebook/dp/B079DS67T1/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1518042966&sr=8-3&keywords=RJ+Conte Brief blurbs on each story: GEM: When Soleil is hired as caretaker to a young boy … click here to read the full article.

COMING SOON! The Reflections of Faith team is back and excited to offer you the third volume in the ‘Light Leads’ series. The theme of this anthology is ‘Love!’ Watch for it. It’ll available at the end of Jan 2018! Free for a limited time! Happy New Year! “By this, everyone will know that you are my disciples.” Love lies at the heart of the Christian’s journey, but in moments of crisis, love often seems the toughest of the virtues. In this anthology, nine of the brightest voices in independent Christian fiction offer stories about individuals at the crossroads, and the opportunities they have to respond with Christian love in all its forms. Love can be patient and kind, or it can take the form of embracing one’s enemy. It can come in the shape of a second chance, or it might look like walking away and never turning back. … click here to read the full article.

For those craving a good, old-fashioned mystery or a clean read for their child!    “An endearing series perfect for fans of Nancy Drew!”     Twelve-year-old Samantha Wolf, and her best friend Ally, are excited to spend part of their summer break in the mountains of Montana. But unbeknownst to them, Hollow Inn is bathed in mystery and legend. After arriving, they soon discover that things are not going well for Sam’s Aunt and Uncle, who own the Inn. There’s vandalism, ghostly sightings, and rumors of lost treasures. Determined to help, Sam and Ally embark on a challenging journey to discover the truth. Read the whole Samantha Wolf Mysteries series, now an Amazon bestseller!   “I bought this and read it to see if it would be a good book for my nieces. It now sits on the shelf right along side the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, and Encyclopedia Brown collections.” … click here to read the full article.

Just yesterday, I finished listening to the audible version of The Shack by Wm. Paul Young. After reading through some of the blogs and opinions on this book, I had no choice but to write my own. I’ll admit I listened to this during a time I’ve been particularly angry with God. I didn’t want to buy the book. I kept hovering my cursor over it, telling myself I didn’t want it. Truly, I did not want it. But, for some reason, I felt compelled. I got three books that day and I didn’t listen to this one first. If you haven’t read this book yet and don’t like spoilers then I would stop right here. Go read it or listen to it and then come back. Notice I didn’t say to go watch the movie. Never watch the movie first. Books rule, plain and simple. Again, I don’t want to ruin … click here to read the full article.

Happy New Year, everyone! Below is the first post of 2017, please read and share it around. I’m starting off with a much needed feel-good series. I put out a call for stories from folks who enjoy helping others or who have been helped. It doesn’t matter whether it’s family, friends, or strangers. If you have a story to share, please reach out to me at clwells.author@gmail.com. From Julie~ According to my mother, I’ve always had a gift for caring for others. I’ve helped a lot of people in my 53-years of life but a few always stick in my head. I remember being sixteen and landing my first tax paying job. My father struck a deal with me. He said when I thought I had enough for a car he would match my savings. It was going real good until I found out that my parents wouldn’t be able to buy my brother a three-piece suit … click here to read the full article.

We’re all commitment-phobes about something at least once or twice in our lives. Sometimes, this includes our love of reading. Life gets so hectic and busy, the thought of committing to a five hundred page novel causes us to choke up and miss that precious getaway only a good book can provide. To remedy this little problem, I thought I’d provide you with a list of low-cost and free (yes, FREE) short stories to get you through the holiday season. With a plethora of genres to choose from, you’ll find a little romance, mystery, fantasy, and even something for the kiddos. Read during your lunch break, while you’re waiting in line, or while the holiday pastries are in the oven baking. So, what’re you waiting for? Start downloading! Oh! *brings voice to a whisper* In case you didn’t know, an author giggles and dances every time you leave a review, … click here to read the full article.

Special Guest Post by J. Grace Pennington Once upon a time, there was a girl who was often beset by strong, extreme emotions. Happiness was bliss. Sadness was despair. And despair was more prevalent than bliss. Her emotions carried her wildly along from one feeling to the next, until she found it nearly impossible to rise above circumstances and feelings to a state of peace. An emotional girl. One of many ways she sought to process these emotions was writing. Writing stories about things she cared about. Writing poetry that captured what was in her heart. She wrote about things that excited her, things that affected her, things that weighed on her. She wrote when she felt like it, and she wrote when she didn’t. She wrote in her journal, and she wrote in notebooks, and she wrote on the computer. A writer. Another way she found to cope with … click here to read the full article.

  Franky A. Brown started writing her Jane Austen retellings in May 2015. She started with Pride and Butterflies, then None But You. Now she’s published Emma’s Match a retelling of Emma by Jane Austen. In Franky’s retelling, Emma is a designer who’s business is struggling, but she’s never failed at anything and she doesn’t plan to fail here either. Can she walk the line between friendship and love or will she lose the only man she has ever loved? About the Book Emma Wallace has a plan up her sleeve to save her struggling design business, but not a clue what do to about the man who has her heart. Stealing a kiss from Will Knight years ago ended in an embarrassment she didn’t want to repeat. But when a popular new designer in town starts taking her clients and has eyes on Will, too, Emma decides it’s time … click here to read the full article.

Need a boost? Does your faith in humanity need restoration? Well, stick around! Lately, my motto in life has evolved into a simplistic view. Something like . . . Try to love everyone and surround yourself with the best possible people. There will never be a shortage of negative energy so it’s up to us as individuals to reach for the good. To BE the good. Mike MacMillan is definitely one of the good guys. And guess what! I got to interview him. If you’re one of the few people on the planet who hasn’t seen this video, then check it out and join us below. Thanks for being here, Mike. As a huge animal lover, I’m overjoyed to be speaking with you. MM: Thanks for having me! Where were you headed the morning you encountered this little skunk with a can stuck on his head? MM: I was on my way … click here to read the full article.

Scroll To Top