C.L. WELLS

Posts Tagged: stories

For those craving a good, old-fashioned mystery or a clean read for their child!    “An endearing series perfect for fans of Nancy Drew!”     Twelve-year-old Samantha Wolf, and her best friend Ally, are excited to spend part of their summer break in the mountains of Montana. But unbeknownst to them, Hollow Inn is bathed in mystery and legend. After arriving, they soon discover that things are not going well for Sam’s Aunt and Uncle, who own the Inn. There’s vandalism, ghostly sightings, and rumors of lost treasures. Determined to help, Sam and Ally embark on a challenging journey to discover the truth. Read the whole Samantha Wolf Mysteries series, now an Amazon bestseller!   “I bought this and read it to see if it would be a good book for my nieces. It now sits on the shelf right along side the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew, and Encyclopedia Brown collections.” … click here to read the full article.

Just yesterday, I finished listening to the audible version of The Shack by Wm. Paul Young. After reading through some of the blogs and opinions on this book, I had no choice but to write my own. I’ll admit I listened to this during a time I’ve been particularly angry with God. I didn’t want to buy the book. I kept hovering my cursor over it, telling myself I didn’t want it. Truly, I did not want it. But, for some reason, I felt compelled. I got three books that day and I didn’t listen to this one first. If you haven’t read this book yet and don’t like spoilers then I would stop right here. Go read it or listen to it and then come back. Notice I didn’t say to go watch the movie. Never watch the movie first. Books rule, plain and simple. Again, I don’t want to ruin … click here to read the full article.

Happy New Year, everyone! Below is the first post of 2017, please read and share it around. I’m starting off with a much needed feel-good series. I put out a call for stories from folks who enjoy helping others or who have been helped. It doesn’t matter whether it’s family, friends, or strangers. If you have a story to share, please reach out to me at clwells.author@gmail.com. From Julie~ According to my mother, I’ve always had a gift for caring for others. I’ve helped a lot of people in my 53-years of life but a few always stick in my head. I remember being sixteen and landing my first tax paying job. My father struck a deal with me. He said when I thought I had enough for a car he would match my savings. It was going real good until I found out that my parents wouldn’t be able to buy my brother a three-piece suit … click here to read the full article.

We’re all commitment-phobes about something at least once or twice in our lives. Sometimes, this includes our love of reading. Life gets so hectic and busy, the thought of committing to a five hundred page novel causes us to choke up and miss that precious getaway only a good book can provide. To remedy this little problem, I thought I’d provide you with a list of low-cost and free (yes, FREE) short stories to get you through the holiday season. With a plethora of genres to choose from, you’ll find a little romance, mystery, fantasy, and even something for the kiddos. Read during your lunch break, while you’re waiting in line, or while the holiday pastries are in the oven baking. So, what’re you waiting for? Start downloading! Oh! *brings voice to a whisper* In case you didn’t know, an author giggles and dances every time you leave a review, … click here to read the full article.

Special Guest Post by J. Grace Pennington Once upon a time, there was a girl who was often beset by strong, extreme emotions. Happiness was bliss. Sadness was despair. And despair was more prevalent than bliss. Her emotions carried her wildly along from one feeling to the next, until she found it nearly impossible to rise above circumstances and feelings to a state of peace. An emotional girl. One of many ways she sought to process these emotions was writing. Writing stories about things she cared about. Writing poetry that captured what was in her heart. She wrote about things that excited her, things that affected her, things that weighed on her. She wrote when she felt like it, and she wrote when she didn’t. She wrote in her journal, and she wrote in notebooks, and she wrote on the computer. A writer. Another way she found to cope with … click here to read the full article.

  Franky A. Brown started writing her Jane Austen retellings in May 2015. She started with Pride and Butterflies, then None But You. Now she’s published Emma’s Match a retelling of Emma by Jane Austen. In Franky’s retelling, Emma is a designer who’s business is struggling, but she’s never failed at anything and she doesn’t plan to fail here either. Can she walk the line between friendship and love or will she lose the only man she has ever loved? About the Book Emma Wallace has a plan up her sleeve to save her struggling design business, but not a clue what do to about the man who has her heart. Stealing a kiss from Will Knight years ago ended in an embarrassment she didn’t want to repeat. But when a popular new designer in town starts taking her clients and has eyes on Will, too, Emma decides it’s time … click here to read the full article.

Need a boost? Does your faith in humanity need restoration? Well, stick around! Lately, my motto in life has evolved into a simplistic view. Something like . . . Try to love everyone and surround yourself with the best possible people. There will never be a shortage of negative energy so it’s up to us as individuals to reach for the good. To BE the good. Mike MacMillan is definitely one of the good guys. And guess what! I got to interview him. If you’re one of the few people on the planet who hasn’t seen this video, then check it out and join us below. Thanks for being here, Mike. As a huge animal lover, I’m overjoyed to be speaking with you. MM: Thanks for having me! Where were you headed the morning you encountered this little skunk with a can stuck on his head? MM: I was on my way … click here to read the full article.

Guest Post by Kate Golden   
Recently my 3-year-old Michael and I were at the local laundromat enduring our weekly washing ritual. This laundromat saves any items left behind by patrons on a large back table, and if no one claims them after several weeks they are donated to the Topeka Rescue Mission. (Yay!) There is usually some pretty nice stuff there, and likely where all of the lonely missing socks go when they enter the magic portals in your home washing machines, never to return! That day in the stack of clothes Michael found a pretty little girl’s skirt in three ruffled shades of his favorite color, purple. Ecstatic, he presented it to me and immediately began tugging it on over his jeans.  When he had it on I watched him “swish” happily side to side and run off to play with the toy dump truck he’d brought to … click here to read the full article.

Guest post by Tara Ellis    To properly begin this story … err … saga, I need to go back one year. Last summer, I had recently re-connected with my childhood best friend via Facebook. We hadn’t seen each other for nearly twenty years! Turns out she was into photography, much like myself. I was wanting to take a photography trip to Yellowstone and threw out the suggestion that we should go together the next summer. She said sure! Fast-forward to this summer. I saw some new photos she (Lisa) shared, and it reminded me of the Yellowstone thing. I still wanted to do it. Not really expecting her to say yes, I shot her a message, asking if she wanted to go. “Sure!” she said. What? really? Really. For two months, we formed a rough plan, and set the date for early August. Now, you might be thinking, “Won’t … click here to read the full article.

Hi, everyone. Today, I’m excited to introduce you to a multifaceted young talent who who’s big ideas are bound to cause the kind of ripple effect that creates change. Alex Chester is a model, actress, blogger, and now, a producer. There are multiple other titles I could add, but we’ve run out of space on her name tag. *grin* When you’re done reading her interview, please be sure to click on the links below and follow her progress. In doing so, you’ll be a part of something special. Welcome, Alex! Thanks for taking the time to talk to me. Tell me, out of all the things listed on your impressive resume, what is your favorite type of work? A: I love musical theatre! There is something so magical about being on stage and having an audience. Every performance is different. I’m not saying that actors aren’t consistent but things happen. … click here to read the full article.

Scroll To Top